• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Breaking Ground: Terrain and Waterworks

Started by Gobias, May 29, 2012, 07:08:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gobias

Well let's call this the ribbon-cutting ceremony for Gobias Industries, my newly christened production factory making custom terrain, water and texture mods for the benefit of the SC4 community.  Which is basically just me.  Daniel.

Long-time lurker but I've never really posted.  I've been tinkering with modding the game for many years for my own enjoyment.  Having enjoyed the use of so much content produced by the community I now feel the need to try and give something back.  Hopefully it meets the quality standard.

Though I've created everything from demand mods and lighting mods, to street tree mods, my primary interest has always been developing terrain and exploring the games application of them.  Folks here like Lowkee, CP, Orange, and others have pioneered terrain modding and for all of their work I'm eternally grateful.  I'd never have learned much of anything beyond the swapping out of 128x128 textures if it hadn't been for their tremendous work.  Both reading their threads and dissecting their work w/Ilive has provided me with the knowledge necessary to feel I can produce something worthy for the community.  So to all, esp Lowkee as I sought his recent advice before kicking off this thread - a HUGE thanks.

So here's what I'm up to.  My initial objectives are water/terrain based and trying to build off of some of Lowkees stunning recent progress in the area to create a varied selection of mods.  I'm an avid hiker and I initially sought to recreate terrain in my three favorite places to hike.   So I'm attempting to produce:

- Berner Oberland Mod
- Highlands (or Icelandic) Mod
- Pacific Northwest Mod