• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Modding: Getting Started

Started by ovekanegra, March 10, 2007, 07:34:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ovekanegra

Hi all
I'm fairly new to the customising of SC4, but I love what I am finding.
I have a few ideas for game components that I would like to try and create myself but I must admit that I am a little confused as to how to get started. I've downloaded the Lot Editor from STEX and even though I have not tried to use it yet in earnest I can see how it works, more or less, (any good tutorials on this would be appreciated).
OK Lot Editor will assemble the components into lots, fine, I think I follow that much, but if I want to make completely new components I need gmax? The links to this point only to a 30 day trial. Am I going to have to pay for this after 30 days, even if I don't use it commercially? If so what does it cost?
I've got heaps of potential questions about the process of creating game elements and a lack of reading material that might answer some of them.
Please could we have some posts of links, explanations, tutorials, walkthroughs, any and all information concerning getting started on creating game components so I can read up and experiment.
I would like to invite everyone to post here on the subject of creating components and mods from the most basic (mainly this and lots of it please), to the most advanced (how do I make this build itself half underground?) 
I post this in full reverence to Colyn's thread "Modders Beware" I've already managed to carelessly add a few very silly things from other sites that totally unbalance the game although I've not crashed it yet without retrieval. (there are copies of my cities, on another HD, naturally!) 
I really would like some guidance here so that I can get started on modding but get it right from the start with some balanced and experienced guidance.