Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

July 27, 2021, 08:56:59 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Hardware to software Rendering change. What's the difference?  (Read 9375 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KoV Liberty

  • SCAG Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1846
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 1
  • Huh?
Hardware to software Rendering change. What's the difference?
« on: November 27, 2009, 07:00:49 PM »
Question is all in the title. ;)
My new MD. Check it out if you wish.

Adrian, I miss you man.

Offline j-dub

  • Everyday I'm just dubbing!
  • NAM Associates
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1942
  • Total likes: 28
  • Reputation: 10
  • H8ting ℛeaLife
    • I blame Discord for sink holes
Re: Hardware to software Rendering change. What's the difference?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2009, 07:10:40 PM »
Quote
Software vs. Hardware Rendering

Software rendering is done completely by the CPU(s) running OpenDX, rather than the local video hardware. The advantage is cross-platform consistency and virtually unlimited control over colors, lighting, shading, clipping, and other sorts of data/image manipulation. The disadvantage is relatively slow speed compared to rendering done with hardware acceleration. Hardware rendering (GL or OpenGL) is system-dependent, in some cases is not possible at all, and in any case has different lighting and shading behavior than software rendering. Also note that hardware rendering in OpenDX presently does not support different colors for front and back faces of surfaces
Quote
In the context of rendering (computer graphics), software rendering refers to a rendering process that is unaided by any specialized hardware, such as a graphics card. The rendering takes place entirely in the CPU.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2009, 07:21:32 PM by j-dub »

Offline KoV Liberty

  • SCAG Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1846
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 1
  • Huh?
Re: Hardware to software Rendering change. What's the difference?
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2009, 07:56:41 PM »
Thanks. I think I will keep it on hardware. ;)
My new MD. Check it out if you wish.

Adrian, I miss you man.

Offline Bobbi

  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 475
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 1
  • Annihilation Angel
    • A space on deviantArt(Nothing)
Re: Hardware to software Rendering change. What's the difference?
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2009, 08:22:54 PM »
Software rendering can't render the textures which is over 512pxs x 512pxs, or they"ll show you the color textures with red and blue. :D
2010.8.4 - I get on SC4D with PSP. So cool.:D
2010.8.14 - I can get on the Internet at home.:)

Offline nerdly_dood

Re: Hardware to software Rendering change. What's the difference?
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2009, 10:40:23 AM »
Software rendering can't render the textures which is over 512pxs x 512pxs, or they"ll show you the color textures with red and blue. :D

Also, software rendering does not allow automata (vehicles, boats, aircraft) to use textures larger than 256x256. But they're 128x128 by default, so it's a simple matter to just use the larger image.
My days here are numbered. It's been great and I've had a lot of fun, but I've moved on to bigger and better things.
   EGO  VOBIS  VADELICO  
Glory be unto the modder and unto the fun and unto the city game!

Offline Andreas

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4797
  • Total likes: 1025
  • Reputation: 33
    • SimCityPlaza
  • CL: ()bobby() Transit Controller
Re: Hardware to software Rendering change. What's the difference?
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2009, 10:44:30 AM »
In Software Mode, the shadows are often not displayed correctly, but on the other hand, it can reduce the number of crashes significantly. I tried two different graphic cards (completely different manufacturer) on my old computer and wasn't able to play without occasionally freezes, but it went perfectly in Software Mode. My new machine seems to run fine in Hardware Mode, and I hope it'll stay like this, because it looks a bit nicer. Performance-wise, I don't think there's a big difference these days, though, since modern CPUs are definitely fast enough for rendering the game without the help of the GPU.
Andreas