Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

December 04, 2021, 08:59:38 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Census Repository Install help?  (Read 5467 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline scadamsc

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Census Repository Install help?
« on: November 20, 2014, 02:15:59 AM »
I've attempted installing the Census Repository (v3.1 by RippleJet) and all its BSC dependencies. I'm stuck and was hoping for some help. I will walk you through what I did in that hopes to provide clarity and help you help me (Thanks!)
 
1) I downloaded all BSC dependencies. These include:
BSC Essentials
BSC MEGA Props Misc Vol. 02
BSC Textures Vol. 03
BSC Textures Vol. 01
 
2) I juiced all the BSC .exe files with FileJuicer (paid version). These juiced folders contained many files in addition to the .dat files, including wavs, icc, inflated, etc.
 
*Note: No sc4lot files were in those juiced folders. Are there none needed? I would assume there are at least some needed. This may be my issue. I'm not sure though.*
 
3) I dragged the BSC .dat files into my plugins folder. (See these files in attached pic: BSC_dats.png)
 
4) Then I juiced the Census Repository Mod, which showed a giant folder full of files and folders. This included many .dats and other stuff. (see these folders and files in attached pic: CR_Files.png)
 
5) I read the readme in an attempt to discern which .dat file to drag into plugins. It appears I must select one of many, but the file names in my juiced folder don't match those in the readme. (SC4 wont allow me to attach readme. See paste below.)
 
Now I'm stuck.


My specific questions are:
 
(1) Did I install BSC dependencies correctly? Are the juiced folders missing sc4lot files, and if so, how do I get them? What about all the other random wav, icc files, etc?
 
(2) How do I know which .dat for the census repository to drag into my plugins folder? The file names in the readme don't match those I downloaded. Also, are there are other files I need to drag to places? For example, the Readme mentions sc4lot files but the juiced folders doesnt appear to contain any.
 
Thanks for you help team! I much appreciate it.

P.S. I didn't see directions anywhere else for Census Repository or BSC for Macs....searched a lot. So this post will hopefully add to the knowledge base for other SC4 noobs like myself.

Thanks again!


==========Readme Paste============
Auto Installation: Double-click the installer file to start the installation. The program will guide you through the process. You can change the default installation path, but we strongly suggest to keep the standard folder in order to make future updates and additions easier.

Please note that there are eleven versions of the Census Repository Facility. These are all installed in \My Docs\Simcity 4\LEX_Downloads\RippleJet\Census Repository. Only one, RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_5600.SC4Lot is installed in your plugins folder.

Check your NAM folder (My Docs\SimCity 4\Plugins\Network Addon Mod) and the table below to determine which one you should use. You need to manually replace the one in your plugins folder with the appropriate one. Note that you can have only one of them.

Name of the file   Compatible with Traffic Plugins

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_1000.SC4Lot
- Maxis Rush Hour
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_C_Standard.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_D_BetterPathfinding.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_E_PerfectPathfinding.dat

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_1200.SC4Lot
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_Z_Classic.dat

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_2000.SC4Lot
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_C_Standard_2xCapacity.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_D_BetterPathfinding_2xCapacity.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_E_PerfectPathfinding_2xCapacity.dat

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_2400.SC4Lot
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_Z_Low.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_ZP_Low.dat

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_2500.SC4Lot
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_A_Hard.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_AP_Hard.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_B_Hard.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_Bp_Hard.dat

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_3750.SC4Lot
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_A_Medium.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_AP_Medium.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_B_Medium.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_Bp_Medium.dat

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_4000.SC4Lot
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_Z_Medium.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_ZP_Medium.dat

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_5000.SC4Lot
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_C_Standard_5xCapacity.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_D_BetterPathfinding_5xCapacity.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_E_PerfectPathfinding_5xCapacity.dat

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_5600.SC4Lot
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_A_Easy.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_AP_Easy.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_B_Easy.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_Bp_Easy.dat

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_6000.SC4Lot
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_Z_High.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_ZP_High.dat

RW_3x1_Census Repository Facility_12000.SC4Lot
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_Z_Ultra.dat
- NetworkAddonMod_Traffic_Plugin_ZP_Ultra.dat

The reason for these different files, is the fact that the Census Repository Facility also functions as a toll booth. The different numbers indicate the Road Network Capacity in those different Traffic Plugins.


After installation you must remove the old version 2 or 3, if you have either of them installed. The file RJ - Census_Repository_Model_and_Query_3.0.dat needs to be removed from \My Docs\Simcity 4\Plugins\BSC\RippleJet\Census Repository.

The file CensusRepository_Version2_Beta2_NoConditions_dd41d65.SC4lot must be removed since it includes the old Version 2 query. That old query has the same TGI addess as the new one in versions 3 and 3.1.

You do not have to bulldoze those old version 2 Census Repository Facilities though. If you want to keep those that you have already built, be sure to keep RalphaelNinja's old model file, CensusRepository-0x5ad0e817_0x6dd414f2_0x30000.SC4Model, but remove the SC4Lot file as mentioned above. Versions 3 and 3.1 include the necessary files to support those towers you have already built.

This way your old Census Repository Facilities will actually automatically get the new query as well. However, you will not be able to build more instances of the old tower, as version 3.1 removes that one from the menu.

A Cleanitol file, Cleanitol_RJ_Census_Repository_Facility_v3.1.txt is included in the zip file. Open that file in Cleantiol in order to simplify the process of removing outdated files and ensuring that you have all dependencies.


MAC Users: File Juicer should enable you to use this installer package.

Un-Installing: To un-install the files, simply bulldoze every lot from this download in your cities and delete the files from the plugins folder afterwards.

Offline vortext

  • Administrator
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 3364
  • Total likes: 580
  • Reputation: 23
  • CL:
    Street Smarts
Re: Census Repository Install help?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2014, 12:30:46 PM »
Well , I don't have any experience with SC4 on Mac, however, by the looks of it the BSC dependencies are in order. The Repository files on the other hand. .  %wrd

I wonder what happens if you load the game with any one of these .dats? Does the Repository show up in game at all? Then at least you'd know it kinda worked but how to figure out which file is appropriate for the traffic simulator. .  ()what()

And that's about all I can say at this moment, sorry. I really have no clue what's going on in terms of juicing and all that.
time flies like a bird
fruit flies like a banana

Offline mgb204

Re: Census Repository Install help?
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2014, 05:42:23 PM »
1) Dependency packs are often nothing more than a single DAT file, these all look fine to me. Any random files are probably those which would normally be utilised as part of the installation program.

2) This does not look to me like they are DAT files per-se, the CR should extract to one dat file and 2 lot files. The simplest solution here is to ask if you have access to Windows via Parallels or Boot Camp to extract the files using the regular installer. If not I think something needs to be extracted from the dat files you are seeing, my guess within them are further separate files held in a dat archive (note: not just SC4/EA use .dat's). The file names would therefore correspond to an option selected during install. If you can open one, then you should be able to work it out from there. However if you can't access any deeper than you can now and have no access to Windows I'm out of ideas except to say you need to source a pre-extracted archive because I don't think any of the DAT files in your screenshots are actual DAT files made for SC4, hence they aren't working.

I tried installing file juicer on my Mac to work out what was happening for you, but I've never used it before and it seemingly doesn't find any files to extract/open when I drag the installer over it, perhaps because it's a trial version - if I could see where you have got to, I can perhaps help further, but I do all my SC4 stuff in Windows so I've no idea why it's not showing any files to extract?
« Last Edit: November 20, 2014, 05:49:16 PM by mgb204 »

Offline scadamsc

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: Census Repository Install help?
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2014, 01:38:23 PM »
Well , I don't have any experience with SC4 on Mac, however, by the looks of it the BSC dependencies are in order. The Repository files on the other hand. .  %wrd

I wonder what happens if you load the game with any one of these .dats? Does the Repository show up in game at all? Then at least you'd know it kinda worked but how to figure out which file is appropriate for the traffic simulator. .  ()what()

And that's about all I can say at this moment, sorry. I really have no clue what's going on in terms of juicing and all that.

Thank you for your response! I'll try some things based on mgb204 response, and if those don't work I'll try just pulling the .dat files in like you said and see what happens.

1) Dependency packs are often nothing more than a single DAT file, these all look fine to me. Any random files are probably those which would normally be utilised as part of the installation program.

2) This does not look to me like they are DAT files per-se, the CR should extract to one dat file and 2 lot files. The simplest solution here is to ask if you have access to Windows via Parallels or Boot Camp to extract the files using the regular installer. If not I think something needs to be extracted from the dat files you are seeing, my guess within them are further separate files held in a dat archive (note: not just SC4/EA use .dat's). The file names would therefore correspond to an option selected during install. If you can open one, then you should be able to work it out from there. However if you can't access any deeper than you can now and have no access to Windows I'm out of ideas except to say you need to source a pre-extracted archive because I don't think any of the DAT files in your screenshots are actual DAT files made for SC4, hence they aren't working.

I tried installing file juicer on my Mac to work out what was happening for you, but I've never used it before and it seemingly doesn't find any files to extract/open when I drag the installer over it, perhaps because it's a trial version - if I could see where you have got to, I can perhaps help further, but I do all my SC4 stuff in Windows so I've no idea why it's not showing any files to extract?


Thanks! Your clarification on point 1 is helpful. I'll assume those are correct for now.

Also, thank you on point 2. I do have access to a windows machine, but it would not be ideal given that I would have to drive to work. However, I never really thought of that as an option, so thanks! I could just download and extract files at work, then ship them over to myself here. It's a simple solution. Thanks!

 I will also try messing with the files that "don't look like dat files per-se." It's really helpful to hear I need 1 dat and 2 lot files.

As far as file juicer, I never was able to get the free version to work. It responded the same way yours did. I had to purchase it before it worked...although it's not really working how I had hoped I guess.

Ok team, I'll report back. Thanks for your help thus far. Standbye

Offline scadamsc

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: Census Repository Install help?
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2014, 02:11:05 PM »
OK -

I tried a few things. The files that mgb suggested may not be dat files were clicked, expanded, juiced, etc. Running them through filejuicer yielded the files seen in the attached screenshot.

All of them essentially yielded the same set of files. It appears they are indeed the various dat files seen in the ripplejet readme....but with different names.

Several text files reference some sc4lot files related to the census repository. I still can't figure out why those aren't getting unpacked by filejuicer. It appears to have been quite helpful for some folks....I paid $17 hoping for the same.

Anyway, I'll try dragging some of the dat files from juiced CR folder into plugins to see what happens. I doubt anything will as it appears I'm still missing sc4lot files.

Thanks all. I'll report back about randomly trying the dat files. In the meantime, any more ideas? Perhaps a tweak to filejuicer, or perhaps a download of unpacked files?

Offline scadamsc

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: Census Repository Install help?
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2014, 03:32:50 PM »
Ok folks, I found a solution.

With some searching, I found a link about WineBottler, a tool that ended up being the simplest solution I've ever worked for a SimCity problem.

(1) First, go to http://winebottler.kronenberg.org/ and download WineBottler.

(2) Install it.

(3) Open WineBottler (not Wine).

(4) Click "advanced" at the top of the window.

(5) Select the .exe you want to run. (In my case, this was the BSC Essential files as well as the Census Repository files.

(6) Click "Install"

(7) Drag the properly extracted files to their correct location in the plugins folder. I suppose you could also install them directly to the plugins folder.

Done and done. Tested. Simple. Working perfectly.

Thanks for help all!

Offline compdude787

Re: Census Repository Install help?
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2014, 05:00:44 PM »
Glad you found out about using Wine! I was about to suggest that myself.
Check out my MD, United States of Simerica!
Last updated: March 5, 2017

My YouTube Channel