• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

romualdillo's little BATs & Problems

Started by romualdillo, May 21, 2014, 09:53:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

romualdillo

Greetings!

I'm a newbie here. I played SC4 for many years, abandoned it and returned. Now I want to try my luck at BATing. As I can't get through 3DStudio, I model my buildings with sketchup and render them with old gMax. The only inconvenient I've found is that I have to retexture the gmax archives if I reload them, but it doesn't matter at all. I'm only modelling little bats for the moment, tiny houses and shops with 8m-wide facades, and that's the result: 2 R$ houses and 2 R$$, grouped in families.

They even have lights:

I was very happy with my buildings. I didn't matter the negative shadows at all (I wanted my props to be slope friendly) until I read this terrible post from c.p.:

http://sc4devotion.com/forums/index.php?topic=16509.0

And then my problems started. I wanted the little school building that appears in the middle of the image to be slope friendly and without negative shadows, but this seems to be impossible for me. I don't know if this is the right section to post it, but I need some help.

First I converted RKT1 in RKT4 in PIM-X, tested and everything seemed to work well:

Then I modified it with Reader, and set the second model:

I set my new prop in the lot with PIM-X Lot Editor:

And tested it in game:

A beautiful brown box, if I export the basement model from gMax as foundation

Or the basement model, with its negative shadow, if I export the model as building.

Any ideas? I would like to have slope friendly props without negative shadows and I don't know what to do now... ()what()

c.p.

A few things:

1. Welcome to SC4D!

2. The BATs are very nice  :thumbsup:

3. I've tried rendering as a foundation or as a building and it worked both ways for me.  So I don't think that is the problem.