• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Revamping Maxis Transportation Textures for HD

Started by debutterfly, April 05, 2009, 08:38:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

debutterfly

Hi, I'm Larry (debutterfly) and I've been playing SC in general for 10 years (wow has it really been that long?). I don't like the Maxis road textures in general because they look fuzzy and unrealistic. I'm new to doing any sort of modding so bear with me. My technique for revamping  these textures is to use GIMP 2.0 and have modular road markings for different types of intersections and pieces. Also, I'm getting rid of those aweful yellow lines at street intersections. Com' on is that really realistic in the U.S. I've been quite a few places in many different states and on Google Earth and have never seen those markings for streets. Anyway, here's some beginning progress with some pieces complete.

Comments are welcome.

-Larry (debutterfly)

cogeo

This is a huge task!

I do have a reservation though, it is still unknown if and how much this would stress the graphics engine. And here we are not talking about a BAT or a small prop, it's the network stuff, which is being used all over the place. The items (textures) themselves are not very big (though we should rather make our calculations based on their uncompressed sizes), but they are instantiated many times (for every network tile); we don't know how big a load this is and what kind of stress this causes to the graphics subsytem. If the number of instances isn't important (ie if only the size of the objects determines the memory needed, not the number of instances), then it's not a very big deal, our current graphics cards should be enough (or maybe a card with a faster chip), otherwise we will need more memory (on the card) too.

Jonathan

Maybe you could start with the base of the network, then see how it affects your game,
so just do the Corners and Orthogonal and Diagonal, so no intersection or more complex textures first?