Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

SimCity 4 Devotion Custom Content Showcase => Independent Development Projects => Independent Mod Projects => Topic started by: earwax_man on December 18, 2009, 12:03:49 PM

Title: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 18, 2009, 12:03:49 PM
Hey all,
I'm making an addon for monorail (like BTM); I'm going to replace the monorail .s3ds with metal rings, make see through tubes via t21 and I may try to have this as a starter piece. I have some models made for the projects ( they're under 500 polygons FYI ;) ) but I don't know where the original monorail files are in SimCity_1.dat. Could someone show me how to replace them without damaging the game? Also could someone show me some tips for transit modding? I'm going to post pictures when they're somewhat completed.  :thumbsup:

- earwax_man
:P
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Jonathan on December 18, 2009, 12:33:29 PM
You PM'd me about this and I forgot it didn't I, sorry :\

You should replace the monorail tiles with the tube not the metal rings.

out of my head (so there maybe small things I can't remember) this is the steps for the straight section of tube/monorail.

if you have made the models in 3ds max, sketchup or some other modelling tool that allows export of .3ds files (not gmax/BAT).

rotate the tube 90 (or -90, sorry I can't remember exactly) degrees on the X axis
export the tube as a 3ds file.(keep texture mapping/locations/etc)
Open the SC_1.dat with the reader.
go to the S3D file which has an IID of 0d031500
right click the file and copy it.
Open a new dat in the reader.
right click the empty space where the files are normally listed and paste.
select the s3d file and click 3DS functions at the top of the
Then click import 3DS.
browse to the file you exported at the beginning.
and the model will appear in the reader. (textureless, but get to that later)
save the file, name the file something like "zzzz_atex" (zzzz makes it load last)
Open the game and the tubes should(if I have remembered and you've done everything correctly) appear when you drag monorail straight.

Then you will have to the same import process with the tubes, except the S3D file should have a different IID instead of the 0d031500 (the same IID as the straight monorail support in SC_1.dat, which I think is something like 0daa1700)

If you have gmax everything is a little bit different and there are different ways to do it,
I think the easiest way to do this is probably with the BuildingMill.ms script:
(number 3 in this post: http://sc4devotion.com/forums/index.php?topic=3917.0 )

 Although I have never done it this way so I don't know exactly how easy it is.

Jonathan
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 18, 2009, 01:56:27 PM
Thank you Warrior! :)

Just a few questions before I start off,

Oh, and thanks for the reply, doesn't matter about the PM anyway; it wasn't really going anywhere then ;)

- earwax_man
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Jonathan on December 18, 2009, 03:01:21 PM
The bottom of monorail trains are at 15m.

HSRP is more complicated because it needs RULs as it doesn't replace monorail, but is additional to monorail.

But the first version of HSRP (not by me) was just created from a blank dat (well it did have RULs in it but not the same type as the is needed to make it additional to monorail)

before decide to try and make it additional to monorail, don't. do it in stages, first you replace monorail then you make it additional. making it additional builds from replacing monorail, so you won't have to start again after you have made it replace monorail.

Jonathan
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 19, 2009, 08:05:56 AM
Thanks Jonathan  :thumbsup:

Is there a way I can disable the pylons? They keep coming up through the structure. :P
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Jonathan on December 19, 2009, 10:09:10 AM
yep, the attached file is from the HSRP/BTM patch, I think it only removes the straight pylons (why it doesn't remove the diagonal, I can't remember)

Jonathan
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 19, 2009, 03:42:06 PM
I've hit a snag with the polygon count (I think)

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/1-3.jpg?t=1261258768)
It is under 500 polygons  &mmm

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/2-1.jpg?t=1261258769)
It shows up in ilives reader  ()what()

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/3.jpg?t=1261258769)
But it doesn't show up in game! :'(

What did I do wrong?

I made a logo for it BTW  :)

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/ATeXcopy.jpg?t=1261258773)

Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Victor01 on December 19, 2009, 03:50:08 PM
Whoa! First post here...
Anyway, I remember that there are 2 straight pieces to replace. Have you already tried to change view and see what happens?
Then, try to reduce polys. The section _\-/_ can be reduced to /-\. Also you don't need the two sided tube.

- GlobexCo
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Jonathan on December 19, 2009, 04:59:15 PM
I have an idea, though it is definitly not permanent but at least you will see the model in game.

go to the mats tab in the reader.
and select each mat one at a time and change the checkbox that says something like backface cull (sorry I can't remember and reader and the task manager have frozen  :bomb: )

save and retry
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 20, 2009, 07:34:00 AM
I got it to work!!! I just replaced the pylons with the model instead ;)

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/squee.jpg?t=1261315393)

Which exemplar's kPropertyID do I edit to allow my see through tubes to show up as a t21?
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Jonathan on December 20, 2009, 09:00:42 AM
So your are keeping the old monorail track?

And are you going to add some sort of glass tube to it?
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 20, 2009, 11:07:46 AM
Of course there's going to be a covering for the tubes, this was just a test run. I'll add transparency soon, I just want to finalise the design of the tubes and maybe change the look of the supports/rings :P

I'l also started designing a station ;D
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 20, 2009, 01:42:47 PM
This is an early version to test transit enabling :P

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/atexstation2.jpg?t=1261336020)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: canyonjumper on December 20, 2009, 02:04:24 PM
Nice. I'll definitely use these once they are released! Great work! :thumbsup: &apls

                  -Jordan
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Monorail Master on December 20, 2009, 07:28:13 PM
Good job man! This adds both modernism and futuristic to my cities. I like it.
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 21, 2009, 03:21:58 PM
It's now fully TE'd ;D

Enjoy this pic.

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/atexstation3.jpg?t=1261343498)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 22, 2009, 07:12:18 AM
I've the t21 prop for orthogonal pieces fully finished, but how can I add it to orthogonal monorail? Which exemplar's kPropertyID_LotConfigNetworkTileId do I edit?
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Jonathan on December 22, 2009, 07:18:48 AM
You shouldn't need to use any T21s,

the prop for orthogonal pieces, do you mean the glass tube bit?

Because you should add that directly to the model (it will look better and its less complicated).
Copy the straight monorail from SC_1.dat
and paste it twice to a new dat
import the tube (with -90 on the X axis like before) from 3ds max. into one of the S3d files
right click the S3D file in the list of files and save as decode file
then in the other S3D file click the Add S3D button and open the file you just saved (usually its in the folder you last opened a file into the reader from, but it's not always for some reason, just search for it)

and then remove the first S3D file.
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 22, 2009, 07:23:40 AM
Yes I was talking about the glass tube ;)

Will that even show up in game? The polygon count is going to be very high. How will I make it transparent? (I notice a tgi file was saved as well, but what do i do with that?)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Jonathan on December 22, 2009, 07:38:01 AM
As long as it's not over 500 (the pylons/rings have a separate limit of 500 (together not each)) it will be fine.

You can try using Cogeo's model tweaker tool on the LEX, as it has the ability to set transparency, however if that doesn't work (because I'm not sure if it will work for True3d type models) I have the manual instruction from Andreas somewhere in my PM inbox.


Just leave the tgi file, it is a file created by the reader that stores the TGI (Type, Group and Instance IDs) so that you don't have to retype the IIDs when you import it again, if you do. But in this instance it won't be used.
Jonathan
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 22, 2009, 07:56:39 AM
I got the tube to show up without transparency so far! ;D

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/WOOT.jpg?t=1261489446)

Thank you so much for your help!  &apls
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Jonathan on December 22, 2009, 08:01:09 AM
So the monorail track is still inside it?

It's starting to take shape :)
 (though you may want to make the tubes more circular)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 23, 2009, 02:57:38 PM
I made a video on how it looks like in game.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzhf4XDvJgg (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzhf4XDvJgg)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: TheTeaCat on December 23, 2009, 03:05:08 PM
Looking good :thumbsup:
looking real good. Nice work. &apls &apls

Nice to see it in action in game  :thumbsup:

 :satisfied:
TTC
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: catty on December 23, 2009, 07:23:52 PM
Very   :thumbsup:  and loved the video   :)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on December 30, 2009, 12:43:56 PM
I need to get my own IID for the textures, how could I change the texture of the tubes?
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: catty on December 30, 2009, 11:58:18 PM
I need to get my own IID for the textures, how could I change the texture of the tubes?

to get your own Texture IID ranges see the BSC Texture Index topic  http://sc4devotion.com/forums/index.php?topic=2101.180

and also have a look at the MODding Game Textures Tutorials  http://sc4devotion.com/forums/index.php?board=52.0

 :)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on January 07, 2010, 11:34:54 AM
In case everyone thinks this project is dead, I'd like to say that it isn't. These are the tubes so far ;D

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/atex_test.jpg?t=1262885512)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Terring7 on January 11, 2010, 09:19:32 AM
Great job &dance

I think that Oppie's Standard Blue and Red Monorail could fit perfectly ;)

(http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/9418/monorail2tk5.jpg)

Oh by the way, are there plans for re-skinning the Maxis red monorail?
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on January 12, 2010, 02:38:31 PM
Oh but of course ;)

I'm going to make a new model for the train. I'm looking at modern trains to get ideas.

This is the new version of ATEX that is open for beta testing on Simtropolis:
(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/atex-1.jpg?t=1263328695)


And a new station is nearly finished:
(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/station-7.jpg)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: Terring7 on January 13, 2010, 09:25:41 AM
Great job, keep going :thumbsup:

As about the train, how about something like this?

(http://www.maglev.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/futuristic-train.jpg)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: dragonshardz on January 13, 2010, 02:15:03 PM
This sounds really, really cool. I'd love to see a train like that as it could work for both HSRP and monorail.

I'll gladly test this for you.
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: strucka on April 12, 2010, 10:15:18 AM
AWESOME!!
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: starfinder9659 on June 05, 2010, 08:44:05 AM
really good  &apls &apls &apls
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on June 15, 2010, 03:44:15 PM
Woah, it's been a while since I check here ;D

I did no work on it really since January. (Major tests that are very important).

Anywho...  &idea

I did a quick test of modding HSR using tubes a while back

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/2-3.jpg?t=1276634686)

And this is the new t21 prop I'll use for orthogonal ;D

(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/ATEX-2.jpg?t=1276633135)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: TheBluejay on July 18, 2010, 08:42:03 AM
Oh, I'm liking the new props!
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: earwax_man on July 18, 2010, 05:21:01 PM
A little fiasco since then ;)
(http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv44/earwax_man/wth-2.jpg?t=1279472378)
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: chester on August 15, 2010, 10:10:34 AM
wow, these look great. i can already see using them in a ultra modern/futuristic city that I've been thinking about starting. keep up the good work. :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Atex Tubes Monorail Addon
Post by: City_Slider on April 08, 2021, 09:38:23 AM
Sad, that this Thread is History. Could someone finished this Mod ;-)

Oliver