• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

NAM + CAM: is it possible? Miscellaneous Q.

Started by 0rion79, September 17, 2008, 11:32:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

0rion79

Hi all, this is my first time here and I have a very important question.

SC4 is for sure one of the games that can be better appreciated after a long time from its release.

The problem is that now I'm very confused. After hearing about the CAM, I went to download it and I've seen that it is really an HUGE game rebalancement.

Now, there are 3 issues about which I do really care a lot and I want to hear your opinion.

1st - I have red the instructions manual that I've found together with the CAM (got from Bit torrent, still good?). It says that CAM has its own streets & mass transit rebalancement that, about speed, sounds much better than NAM, with a more realistic speed. But what about pathfinding?
And what about all those nice custom contents, as the roundabouts and 1-square tools for custom mass-transit modules, as the rail+street squares? I have used them a lot!!

So, how can I use NAM and the CAM together? Do the Automata Controller Files may conflict with CAM? And what about Traffic controller files? What if I choose "perfect pathfinding" with no multiplier (x2 or x5)?

2nd - I've seen that CAM is not compatibile with some MODs that I have, as lower pedriana farms or industry quadrupler. Ok, if the CAM rebalances the game, I can easily give them up. But what about Opera theater mod, that increased its capacity? it was quite an important add-on for very large towns!!

3rd - I've red about the commuters loop. I think I have experimented it only in very few cities and I think I can risk to use CAM on my older maps, but how can I prevent it from happening? It is quite frustrating! The only way could be of NOT creating connections among cities

4th - anything else that I should know?

Thank you very much