Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

July 27, 2021, 07:18:11 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: VDK Customer Support  (Read 48314 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vester

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4843
  • Total likes: 695
  • Reputation: 28
    • My bat cave.
  • CL: Tickets Please
Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #80 on: April 21, 2015, 02:24:37 PM »
Thanks for reporting this. Will take a look at it as soon as possible.


Is this when just installing one mod ? or is also when making a copy of all the mods ?



EDIT: Had a look at the installer script. Not sure why you are getting this.
Text and files matches.

Is there anyone could try to replicate this !


Found the error. Wrong texture. Will be updating the files soon.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 02:36:22 PM by vester »

Offline SD40-2

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Total likes: 3
  • Reputation: 0
  • Mass Rail Transit Solutions
Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #81 on: April 21, 2015, 03:15:15 PM »
Thanks for reporting this. Will take a look at it as soon as possible.


Is this when just installing one mod ? or is also when making a copy of all the mods ?

Sorry, I was away from my computer.

It's just when installing one mod. No extras. Haven't tried installing all of them.

I'll leave it to you if you don't need any more info.

Offline vester

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4843
  • Total likes: 695
  • Reputation: 28
    • My bat cave.
  • CL: Tickets Please
Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #82 on: April 21, 2015, 03:26:35 PM »
Have updated the file on the exchange.

Offline emanuelfranco0390

Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #83 on: June 27, 2016, 12:08:34 AM »
Hi Vester  :)

I don't know if this is the right place to point this; two questions:

1 -  Is it posible to make the CrossRail automata from VDK Train Mods Vol 06, Super Express Trains. from rail to Elevated Rail/GRL automata? if yes, How can I do that? I only know how to use Ilive Reader and change some IDs, but I don't know how to change the IDs for this case in Ilive Reader.

2 - I know how to re-skin automatas, and I have a re-skin for the CrossRail automata, is the HK MTR Airport Express Line skin. So my question is, Can I send the two new re-skined and modified DAT files to you and see if you can include them in one of your VDK automata packs?
Thanks.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2016, 12:24:48 AM by emanuelfranco0390 »

Offline vester

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4843
  • Total likes: 695
  • Reputation: 28
    • My bat cave.
  • CL: Tickets Please
Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #84 on: June 27, 2016, 11:31:29 AM »
At first I will point you to a tutorial: Tutorials on Automata Modding

Any question goes into: Help with automata modding

Offline Marchom

Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #85 on: April 26, 2017, 09:06:42 AM »
Hi
There is a problem with the 2 files
VDK Proppack 4 Textures Vol A - EMD F10 Freight Engines (v1.0)   and     VDK Proppack 4 Textures Vol B - EMD F10 Freight Engines (v. 1.0)

When i try to extract those files i get error message that exe files are corrupted.

The 2 other files (Vol C and Vol D) expand without problem.


Offline evarburg

VDK Proppack 3 - GEvoEngine Basefile Installer
« Reply #86 on: May 02, 2017, 02:56:35 PM »
Hi.The installer doesn't install anything in my simcity 4 plugins file ; during the procedure, it says that the stuff will be installed in a BSC/VDK folder but there is none to be found. What am I doing wrong ?

Offline vester

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4843
  • Total likes: 695
  • Reputation: 28
    • My bat cave.
  • CL: Tickets Please
Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #87 on: May 02, 2017, 03:49:59 PM »
Hi evarburg.

Not sure which installer you are talking about ?
If you are talking about proppack 4 Vol A, B, C and D, I guess you clicked on the copy all, you can read in the readme  "$Deal"$
that the folder that mods is going to be copy to, is:
"SimCity 4\LEX_Downloads\VDK\Proppack 4"



Marchom: Extracting the files ?
You are not running the installer ?

Could I get you to redownload the files and see if that helps ?
The files could be gone corrupt during the download.  ()what()

Have download the files and runned the installer with no problem.
Had a small problem with the installer during avast running it in sandbox mode, but after the scan the installer run as it should!

Anyone else got a problem with the files ?


BTW: Please don't write support questions in the comment section on the exchange.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2017, 04:05:18 PM by vester »

Offline praiodan

Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #88 on: May 03, 2017, 01:38:30 AM »
Considering what Marchom said:
It seems the zip files the installers are in are somewhat strangley encoded or such, I wasn't able to extract the installer with the windows explorer in first place ("Unexpected error, could not extract blabla" error message), but when I used 7zip for extracting, it worked and then also the installers ran as supposed and installed the textures selected.

Considering what evarburg said:
I, too, was a little confused for that it's not installing into the plugins folder and had to look twice before I recognized the slightly different path  $%Grinno$% But there I found all the files.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2017, 01:40:04 AM by praiodan »

Offline vester

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4843
  • Total likes: 695
  • Reputation: 28
    • My bat cave.
  • CL: Tickets Please
Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #89 on: May 03, 2017, 04:00:50 AM »
Thank you P.
I do use 7zip myself, so that is why I don't get any problem.

Will try to repack them this evening. Will let you know when its done.

Offline vester

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4843
  • Total likes: 695
  • Reputation: 28
    • My bat cave.
  • CL: Tickets Please
Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #90 on: May 03, 2017, 09:40:26 AM »
Redone the zip files.

Please let me know if you still have any problems or not ?

Praiodan: Could I get you to try the out again.

Will add extra info to the mouse over text in the installer about the folder for the copy all option.

Offline eggman121

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1662
  • Total likes: 3166
  • Reputation: 29
  • CL:
    Mr. Smth
Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #91 on: May 03, 2017, 01:10:45 PM »
Hello everyone.

I have had no problems on my end using windows explorer on a Windows 7 machine.

You can try 7zip if you need extract them but otherwise they should install Ok.

-eggman121

Offline praiodan

Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #92 on: May 03, 2017, 03:02:07 PM »
Praiodan: Could I get you to try the out again.

Works like a charm now for me.  :thumbsup:


Offline vester

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4843
  • Total likes: 695
  • Reputation: 28
    • My bat cave.
  • CL: Tickets Please
Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #93 on: May 03, 2017, 04:46:15 PM »
Thank you both  :thumbsup:

Have reuploaded new installers with a little mouse over text added:

See the description box.

Thanks to Noah for helping me get the text right.

Offline etg-nc2nyc

Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #94 on: March 20, 2018, 01:19:37 PM »
Hi! I downloaded and unzipped the zip files:
- VDK Proppack 3  GEvoEngine Basefile Installer RevA
- VDK_Proppack 3  GEvoEngine Textures Vol3E Installer

I'm on a Mac, so I ran the .exe files through File Juicer. Neither of these yielded .dat files - only inflated, html, and txt files (which are normally useless and get discarded). (See attached screenshot of an example.)

I deleted all of it, came back to SC4D and downloaded zips again... same process... no dat files.

I'm fairly new to this, so I feel like I must be making some obvious error, but I can't figure it out...
Can you help?

I know that Simmer2's Roundhouse (from Simtropolis - using these props) will render and work without these props, but I would love to have all the added realism/variety.

Thank you!
"No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted." - Aesop

Offline mgb204

Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #95 on: March 20, 2018, 01:50:00 PM »
Try using 7zip, which can open NSIS installers just fine, although the folder structure inside may be a little odd. With a bit of trial and error, you should find all the .dat files pretty easily.

Offline etg-nc2nyc

Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #96 on: March 20, 2018, 02:00:38 PM »
Thank you! 7zip itself isn't Mac compatible (or I've gone blind and insane), BUT it led me to Keka which is AND it worked!  http://www.kekaosx.com/en/
"No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted." - Aesop

Offline Ryan Ghostling

Re: VDK Customer Support
« Reply #97 on: July 18, 2020, 03:13:05 AM »
Good day everyone! May I ask why I only have one coach when I installed VDK's Tram Skin? But when I delete VDK's file, it goes back again to the usual Maxi's brown train with complete coaches. However, the color sucks and it would be nice to replace it with VDK's skin.