Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

SimCity 4 Devotion Custom Content Showcase => BSC Creations => BSC Place => Team Custom Content Projects => Daeley's Laboratory => Topic started by: daeley on March 08, 2007, 05:07:58 PM

Title: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: daeley on March 08, 2007, 05:07:58 PM
working on a new tool to view the data gathered by the Regional Tracking Mod

(http://homepages.vub.ac.be/~jjborms/RTMviewer003.jpg)
(http://homepages.vub.ac.be/~jjborms/RTMviewer004.jpg)

you can view info on each city individually or per region... final version coming soon ;-)
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: wouanagaine on March 08, 2007, 05:10:25 PM
Top tool  :thumbsup:
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: Rayden on March 08, 2007, 05:15:19 PM
Nice and interesting tool. I'm sure it will be very useful, at least to me ;) I'm always trying to control the balance between the population and the available jobs for each wealth group. It will be good to avoid those hatefull brown briefcase zots  ;D
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: joelevan on March 08, 2007, 05:23:39 PM
Does this only work with BTE lots or does it do some kind of magic and pull everything?

Joel
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: daeley on March 08, 2007, 06:02:55 PM
farms, as noted, work only for 17 types of BTE fields
population works with the general population numbers, so it's not related to BTE
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: bat on March 09, 2007, 09:58:24 AM
wonderful tool!! :thumbsup: &apls
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: daeley on March 10, 2007, 10:06:50 AM
I've added a button to take quick'n dirty screenshots, easy for CJ's or general showing off... generates <30kb .png images looking like this:

(http://homepages.vub.ac.be/~jjborms/CivicVille.population.png)

(http://homepages.vub.ac.be/~jjborms/Foretia.farmland.png)

with filename <city/region name>.<category>.png, for example CivicVille.population.png or Shozalosa.farmland.png

nearing the final version... expect this on LEX soon
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: Travis on March 10, 2007, 08:00:17 PM
Awesome!

You've got a cool tool there. Will be very useful for me. Usually I have to add the numbers up on a calculator.
Looks like those days are over! I can't wait for the release.  :thumbsup:
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: daeley on March 13, 2007, 04:58:05 PM
released http://sc4devotion.com/csxlex/lex_filedesc.php?lotGET=594  :satisfied:
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: meldolion on March 14, 2007, 03:57:40 AM
Hi Daeley,
first of all thanks for the tool!!!
I'Ve a problem running it tough,
when I launch the bat file gives me the following error:
D:\tmp\RTMViewer>java -cp . view.ViewerFrame
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
        at view.ViewerFrame.<init>(ViewerFrame.java:90)
        at view.ViewerFrame.main(ViewerFrame.java:357)
Caused by: java.lang.ArithmeticException: / by zero
        at data.Region.updatePop(Region.java:117)
        at data.Region.parsePop(Region.java:55)
        at data.Parser.<init>(Parser.java:74)
        at data.Parser.<clinit>(Parser.java:33)
        ... 2 more

Ive Sc4 Delux version and my Java is
D:\tmp\RTMViewer>java -version
java version "1.5.0_02"
Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_02-b09)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_02-b09, mixed mode)

thanks
Luca
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: daeley on March 14, 2007, 04:24:29 AM
thanks... your java version isn't the problem... seems I left in a divison by zero error for regions with 0 residential population :shame:

I'll have it fixed right away...

update: fixed! thanks again for the bug report :)
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: Rayden on March 14, 2007, 03:16:35 PM
I'm having a problem. I double click the .bat file and this screen pops up and disappears without happening anything else. I managed to get a print shot of it, and it looks like it doesn't find a file called popfile.dat

(http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/3163/rtmviewerlogxx5.jpg)

Is it my bad or something else?

I've looked for that file through my hard drive and SC4 CD and, nothing. &mmm

EDIT: Forget it, my bad, didn't read carefully the text at the download place. I didn't had the RTM modd installed. Maybe you could add a readme file to the file itself. That was the first place I looked for help. ;)
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: Rayden on March 14, 2007, 05:10:51 PM
Well, now I just need to gather some info, the window still comes empty. Do I have to open all the cities on my region or just the ones with population? Also, when opening, do I have to save or it's just enough to open and leave without saving?

(http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/4843/capture14032007214234lr1.jpg)
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: daeley on March 15, 2007, 03:25:24 AM
yes... the RTM works as follows: when you open a city, there will be a popup asking you to activate tracking for this city. If you accept, the city become tracked and the city's data is saved to a tracker file.

When you open the RTM viewer, it looks for this tracker file and reads all the data inside. So unfortunatly, if you have a big region, you'll have to pass by every city and accept tracking at least once before they can be viewed in the RTM viewer.
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: Rayden on March 15, 2007, 08:51:58 AM
I think I have the popup option deactivated, coz I haven't seen yet any popup asking for that tracking. &mmm I'll checkt that up later when I get home.
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: bat on March 15, 2007, 11:59:45 AM
Thanks for uploading this tool!
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: daeley on March 15, 2007, 05:41:52 PM
Rayden... what OS are you on? windows or mac? also, are you using a custom shortcut on your desktop to start the game or the one that came with the game? If you're using a custom one, try starting the game through start > all programs > maxis > simcity 4
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: Rayden on March 15, 2007, 05:58:47 PM
Rayden... what OS are you on? windows or mac? also, are you using a custom shortcut on your desktop to start the game or the one that came with the game? If you're using a custom one, try starting the game through start > all programs > maxis > simcity 4
Thanks Daeley, but it's working now. On the game setup, I had all pop ups deactivated, so, to accept that reports message I had to go to the messages window and click on those tracking lines.
Thanks, it's a wonderfull tool, and I'll be using on my MD, for sure. :)
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: daeley on March 16, 2007, 04:02:46 AM
ah, so it was working... phew :satisfied:

another happy customer... woopee  ()stsfd()
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: GMT on March 17, 2007, 04:46:11 AM
found it.

well, awesome tool, well done work.
BUT:

It's not really working... at least not for me.
I mean, handling is easy and smooth, layout works and all that, but the region's figures are... well, wrong.

I've adjusted the path to my sc4 folder (as it should be) but it's only showing 1 region (though there're more)
and the figures don't match at all.

it gives me a ~386k population though the current pop is slightly more than 1 million
it gives me a ~130k commercial jobs (all together), but it's at about 906k
and it gives me a ~236k industrial jobs although there about twice as much (430k)

further, it only shows me only 19 cities in the region, although there're WAY more (248, 56 developped)

here two screens I took, one of the RTM tool, and one of the Region Census tool, to show the difference in figures looking at the same region, because the ones of the RC are more likely to match):

the current figures shown in RC
(http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/3244/rcbp6.jpg)

and the faulty figures shown in RTM tool (also, pay notice to the difference between the slidebars for the region's cities)
(http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/2758/rtmob8.jpg)


I hope you can fix this error somehow.
btw: I'd like to suggest an additional feature of taking regional screenshots (if possible)
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: daeley on March 17, 2007, 09:28:29 AM
further, it only shows me only 19 cities in the region, although there're WAY more (248, 56 developped)

think you answered the question why total number are too low just there ;-)
furthermore, as stated in the RTM, you should visit each city at least once (since installing the mod) and accept tracking for that city... I know it's a drag for large regions, but I'm afraid there's no other way. There shouldn't be a problem with a region having a lot of cities afaik...

generating ingame screenshots isn't possible with this tool since it doesn't get it's data from the savegames
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: GMT on March 17, 2007, 11:56:59 AM
hm... ok then. now I know what I do tomorrow...

thanks for the fast reply!
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: DrPepper on January 15, 2008, 11:23:07 AM
Yeah, I have a 07 Toshiba Vista Laptop, And I don't think this is compatible. I'll try fixing it for the 3rd time. :D ah well, maybe just a minor bug.


-DrPepper
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: slumberingsausage on April 18, 2008, 03:43:14 AM
 &apls Thanks for this tool. I run Vista Ultimate and after reading the posts i have got it running the first time I installed it.  :thumbsup:

For those running Vista and experiencing problems try running it in XP service pack 2 mode.

Right click RTMViewer click on properties (at the bottom of the dropdown popup) click on the second tab "compatibility" 

ensure the run this program in compatibility mode for "windows XP (service pack 2) is ticked then click on apply/OK and it should work.

Hope this helps anyone having problems
Title: Re: new tool to support the Regional Tracking Mod
Post by: TS007 on January 05, 2011, 06:45:16 PM
I'm having a problem. I double click the .bat file and this screen pops up and disappears without happening anything else. I managed to get a print shot of it, and it looks like it doesn't find a file called popfile.dat

(http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/3163/rtmviewerlogxx5.jpg)

Is it my bad or something else?

I've looked for that file through my hard drive and SC4 CD and, nothing. &mmm

EDIT: Forget it, my bad, didn't read carefully the text at the download place. I didn't had the RTM modd installed. Maybe you could add a readme file to the file itself. That was the first place I looked for help. ;)
Hello. I am new to the site. I have a same problem. I have installed both RTM mod and Data Viewer. But nothing is working. When I play city, I do get pop up for the tracking of city. however, when I run the batch file , I get the same thing as your screen shot. I don't no what to do? ()what()
Any Help?? Thank you very much in advance.