Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

May 06, 2021, 04:49:39 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")  (Read 152352 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline SC4BOY

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #560 on: October 17, 2011, 12:00:51 AM »
I am new to the DAMN/SSP Tool thing. I have put it off for a long time (years) due to what appeared to me to be a lot of "dynamics" in it... I will say I am VERY IMPRESSED by all the work. Kudo's to all!

I have an odd request and am not at all sure this is the place to post it, but I figured if not someone would send me to the right place. My problem to a personal vision problem where seeing things against a WHITE background is very difficult to read. I wondered if there is a way without serious programming talent to change the DAMN menu display window to a "graph-paper green" background? Any thoughts would be appreciated.. :) Thanks.


Offline Grneyes

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #561 on: January 14, 2012, 02:14:49 PM »
I just installed DAMN and have a question. Some things still show up in my Parks Menu, isn't the DAMN supposed to remove those things, like SimGoober's brick canals (which are in the DAMN)?

Offline Rady

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #562 on: January 16, 2012, 01:21:56 AM »
You just need to delete the "Lot Resource Indicator" key of these lots using Ilive's reader to make them disappear from the SC4 menu. However, it's strongly advised to make a copy of that LOT prior to modifying it ...

(I prefer to use the "folder" way of disabling them -  there's a folder calles "zzz_DAMN_remove" in my plugins directory that holds a modified copy of each of the lots I've DAMNed with just the Lot Resource Indicator missing. Tis folder is to load at last).
If it's a good idea, go ahead and do it. It's much easier to apologize than it is to get permission.

Visit my BAT thread: Slow BAT steady - Rady's first BAT attemtps

Offline cvds

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #563 on: March 02, 2012, 09:09:21 AM »
Hello all,

I was playing with DAMN today on linux (with wine of cource). Now I was not able to find any resource on how to get this working under linux so I will post my exploits here.

My original post is on simtropolis which includes the explanation:
http://www.simtropolis.com/forum/topic/46607-rtmt-addon-pack-v360-install/page__view__findpost__p__1228271

Basically all I did was replace the indexer script to its linux variant like so:

find . -type f | sed -e "s|\\.\(.*\)|`pwd`\1|" -e "s|.*drive_c\(.*\)|c:\1|" -e "s|\\/|\\\\|g" > ../Support/DAMN-index.txt

Things of note:
1) I run this command inside the root folder
2) I am not responsible if you wreck your sc4 installation

Offline c0pr4x

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #564 on: June 18, 2012, 11:24:32 AM »
Hello,

I would like to know where i can found a tutorial for the Damn Menu. I download all the thing.. but it won't work... and i don't know why..


Offline NCGAIO

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #565 on: June 18, 2012, 08:03:10 PM »

 :thumbsup:   A full tutorial can be downloaded at the link below of the Simpeg4

http://www.simpeg.com/forum/index.php?action=articles; cat = 7


They will be in the title - Tutorials - Custom Development


.                                         Sub Categories: DAMN Those Full Menus



 "$Deal"$  But first it is necessary to register. If you have not already joined it can be done at this link


http://www.simpeg.com/forum/index.php?action=register
« Last Edit: June 18, 2012, 08:11:43 PM by NCGAIO »

Offline c0pr4x

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #566 on: June 19, 2012, 07:30:15 AM »
Thx! I will try this!

Offline Yild

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #567 on: June 29, 2012, 05:07:32 PM »
Hello

I have a problem with DAMN and NAM elements.

I added NAM to DAMN menu and when I try to plop element all I get is red cursor. Other lots work ok.

I found that others had problems with some flora mods (Pasture Flora) but I have checked them (installed) at my current sc4 installation and they are working fine.

Things that i have checked:

I had only NAM folder in plugins dir whene i was doing tests,
I deleted (moved) all entries in DAMN root dir, and added NAM again with reindexing.

But still after selecting element from menu and moving cursor outside DAMN window it becomes red.

Any idea ? is NAM working with DAMN ?
DAMN Manager download: at LEX at STEX
DAMN Manager support thread: at SC4Dev

Offline io_bg

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #568 on: November 14, 2012, 02:52:00 PM »
Sorry for writing in this old thread but I've a problem using the DAMN... I already had it a while ago (probably 2-3 years ago) but can't find the solution which was given to me by Diggis. Anyway, here's the problem - I install the mod (in the proper place of course) but, apart from the pop-up not showing up, the menu box stays empty (except the navigation controls). I ran the indexer exe just in case but that didn't help. Any ideas what's wrong? Here's a pic in case it's needed:

Visit my MD, The region of Pirgos!
Last updated: 28 November


Offline ivo_su

  • Forums Senator
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Master of Regional Development and Management
Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #569 on: November 16, 2012, 10:45:19 AM »
In fact, yesterday I installed this program and DAMN I faced the exact same situation. I really do not know how to proceed further. I even downloaded and DAMN manager but alas for now there is no progress. I'd love for some clarification.

Offline z

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4866
  • Total likes: 33
  • Reputation: 26
    • RTMT World Headquarters
  • CL: Detailman!
Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #570 on: November 16, 2012, 02:43:08 PM »
Have you people modified the "Start in" field of your main SC4 shortcut to be the Apps subfolder, and not the main SC4 folder?

Offline ivo_su

  • Forums Senator
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Master of Regional Development and Management
Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #571 on: November 16, 2012, 03:45:36 PM »
Steve I just run the game from the Apps, not a shortcut but it does not change anything. My problem is still on the agenda.

« Last Edit: November 16, 2012, 03:49:28 PM by ivo_su »

Offline io_bg

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #572 on: November 17, 2012, 04:54:13 AM »
Have you people modified the "Start in" field of your main SC4 shortcut to be the Apps subfolder, and not the main SC4 folder?
Didn't know the solution could be so simple. It works now, thanks!
One more question though - how do I make the menus show in pop-up windows instead of using the advisor's menu or the news feed? This makes navigation harder.
Visit my MD, The region of Pirgos!
Last updated: 28 November


Offline ivo_su

  • Forums Senator
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Master of Regional Development and Management
Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #573 on: November 17, 2012, 07:45:04 AM »
Thanks io_bg I discovered how to fix this bug. I really only had to delete / Apps from my shortcut and now everything is fine.
I do have one question. I have two folders with plugins, one is located in My Documents and the other is in D: \ GAMES \ Sim \ Plugins. The problem is that when I open DAMN manager I see only lots that are in C: \ Users \ Super Ivo \ Desktop \ Documents \ SimCity 4 \ Plugins.
How can I do so that the handle and the other lots.

Offline markussaage

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #574 on: December 22, 2012, 11:51:24 PM »
Hi,

I have a little prob here... :) some of my plugins a still showing up in the game menus. They appear also in the damn menus. I've tried the hint above deleting the Lot Resource Indicator, but I can not find it...
It is not the same as the Lot Resource Key, right? So, does anybody know the exact line I have to delete in the Reader? Thanks in advance!

And Merry X-Mas!

Offline Yild

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #575 on: December 23, 2012, 01:41:53 AM »
Yes Lot Resource Key is property that you search...
but there is no need to modify anything... use this  ;D


Edit: for flora 'lots' property name is "Item Button ID"
« Last Edit: December 23, 2012, 01:44:28 AM by Yild »
DAMN Manager download: at LEX at STEX
DAMN Manager support thread: at SC4Dev

Offline z

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4866
  • Total likes: 33
  • Reputation: 26
    • RTMT World Headquarters
  • CL: Detailman!
Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #576 on: December 23, 2012, 01:42:51 AM »
I've tried the hint above deleting the Lot Resource Indicator, but I can not find it...
It is not the same as the Lot Resource Key, right?

It is.

Offline markussaage

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #577 on: December 24, 2012, 12:52:00 AM »
Hi guys,

thanks for your help. I deleted the Lot Resource Key in Reader in one unhided lot and I got a CtD, when I started
the game...  :'(
So I've tried the new DAMN Manager and everything works fine now...   :thumbsup:
Great tool...  &apls

Thanks a lot and merry christmas!

Offline Yild

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #578 on: December 24, 2012, 01:03:19 AM »
Hi guys,

thanks for your help. I deleted the Lot Resource Key in Reader in one unhided lot and I got a CtD, when I started
the game...  :'(
There are sometime problems with reader when saving files - more to read in ilive reader support thread.

Great tool...  &apls

Thanks a lot and merry christmas!

Thanks and thanks... and mc to you to  :D
DAMN Manager download: at LEX at STEX
DAMN Manager support thread: at SC4Dev

Offline powerpill-pacman

Re: DAMN Development Thread (formerly known as "Custom Submenus")
« Reply #579 on: February 24, 2013, 02:16:01 AM »
I installed the Damn Menus yesterday and already deleted apps from my shortcut, but still nothing but the navigation keys when i open up the DAMN menu.
I'm running SC4 on Win7.