• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Avenue Railroad Crossings

Started by Frankie, April 07, 2007, 09:02:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frankie

Well, I was playing SC4 the other day, when I realized, I hate wig-wag style crossing gates. They are cool for older cities from the 1930's-1950's, but not for those of us with modern cities. Here's what I went for:

It looks good for urban areas no?

Here's what I got:

Fukuda was kind enough to mod the test models for me:

and now it looks like:

I was wondering if I could get some suggestions on how to make it better, or any other criticisms you may have (feel free to be as critical as you want, I want to hear it). I'm still a BAT beginner though, so have a little mercy :P

I have absolutely no idea how to animate, so I just made the lights static, same with a crossing gate if I do add one eventually.

Let me know what you think.

-Frankie

meinhosen

Frankie,

those crossing arms are looking pretty good.  I've seen (have) a mod that changes those wig-wags into the regular crossing gates, and I'm pretty sure that you could make those show up on RR crossings.

One suggestion: add in a gate.  No need to animate it, but it would add to the already excellent model you've produced.

Great work!  I'll be keeping an eye on this  :thumbsup:
You're telling me I get to be home for more than 12 months?

wouanagaine

Looks good to me
Maybe you can put an underground passage for sims ?

New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

BigSlark

Great start Frankie! Now from the depths of my memory...