• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Can HOT lanes work in SC4?

Started by locke14, January 11, 2010, 08:27:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

locke14

Perhaps someone more masterful in the ways of the traffic simulator can answer this for me. I was wondering if sims will take a tolled road as an alternative to an untolled road if the tolled road has much less traffic? Or is the simulator set to always prefer untolled roads? I would go experiment, but homework kind of crushes that dream at the moment. Is there anyone that can tell me through experience or theory?

locke14

I decided that homework is for free periods  ;D. Here's what I found out. This is my first time image posting! I hope i did it right  :-[! (EDIT: I realize the images are too large! Hmm..how can I resize them. There's a tut on the ommnibus, but ST is down! fixed the images!)
At first I had a super long street connection as well as a short tolled avenue connection. The street got no users. Things get interesting as you change thing around however...

While some enjoyed using the shorter street connection...(~20 sims)

Most liked the tolled avenue connection! (~600 sims)

With the street upgraded to a road...( ~120-150 sims)

But most sill used the avenue (~400 sims)

Ryan B.

I'm not sure if HOT / "managed" lanes (such as what you see on the Katy FRWY in west Houston) would "functionally" work in SC4, but it'd be very easy to simulate it, using overhanging ETC apparatus.

emgmod

You can also simulate HOT by using RHW. I have a RHW-2 in one of my cities that acts as a HOT road. There are toll booths wherever cars enter/exit.

Are buses affected by toll booths? I always wanted to know that.

locke14