• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

MikeSeith's Driveable Vehicles Tutorial

Started by vester, March 17, 2010, 10:23:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

vester

This is  posted with permission from MikeSeith.

There is some pictures and files missing. Mike is looking for them.

Please post any questions in the thread: Help with automata

Welcome to the Driveable Vehicles Tutorial

In this tutorial I will show you how I make custom vehicles for Sim City 4. These are vehicles that drive around your cities and are driveable by your sims. What I will show you is only one way (my way) to make these custom vehicles and is meant as a guide. This is my first attempt at a full scale tutorial on any subject so please be patient and feel free to E-mail me with your questions. Hopefully I will be able to answer you. Please remember I am not all that good at mods, I happened to get this right because I got lucky and I am stubborn, if you have complex modding questions please ask the modding experts.

This tutorial was made in response to various people from Simtropolis who asked for a tutorial on this subject.

If you happen to find a way to import new useable 3d vehicle models into the game please let me know. I find the selection of vehicle types in SC4 very limiting.

I look forward to seeing and downloading many new vehicles on the simtropolis exchange.

Table of content:

FilesThe neccesary and recommended programs and files.
Part oneFSHing for images. Extracting the fsh file for editing.
Part twoEditing your fsh file. Making the alpha chanel.
Part threePutting the fsh file on the original SC4 model.
Part fourReplace a vehicle or creat a new instance.

And now, on to the tutorial.

vester

Files:

A list of the programs you will need in order to make a SimCity 4 Driveable car.
These are the programs I will be using in the tutorial. You may choose to use
different tools after you get a feel for making these vehicles.