• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

a fantastic old map i found - paris 1759

Started by jigsaw, May 11, 2010, 04:36:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jigsaw

i dont know if this is the right area, this is my first time talking non-sc4 on these forums... but i felt i just had to share it with other city-builders like myself.

i love reading history. i read about anything and everything when it comes to history. yesterday i was reading about the history of Paris, and the old Monarchs etc.. and i came across this old map of Paris by Cassini.

i was mesmerised. it is a large file, but the detail is incredible. with this map i can see how modern paris has become what it has today.

this map of paris shows the city as it was, pre-suburban, pre-industrial era, pre-railways, pre-automobiles. this is farming, trade, horse and wagon france.

here is the ref for the picture. it's 8MB

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Carte_de_Cassini_Paris_BNF07711505.jpg

if you zoom in and study it, you can see how geography, bridges, and villages, churches influence the roads and tracks. you can see how the churches must of been visual checkpoints of the evolution of the roads. you can see that bridges influenced cities, or cities influenced bridges.

you can also see in great detail how the dammed up a lot of small streams for water supply. every city/village/town has a stream or river running through it, but there is also a dam nearby. the cities lay out there is distinctly Parisian, and this would be the nursery of how Napoleonic Paris would have been designed.

there is lots of churches by the river. in fact there is a lot of churches period.

Paris itself is not a big place in the era. it must of been solely more of a trade/government area, as the villages and town are significantly larger in area, but would be of a lower density no doubt.

and i could go on, and on....