• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

crushedcar attempts to bridge the gap

Started by crushedcar, February 17, 2012, 08:00:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crushedcar

Okay, title aside I thought I would try my hand at bridge BATting. As I have never done this before I thought that I should post my attempts here in order to receive support for when I get completely lost. My first attempt is a basic causeway for the RHW-6S. If this bridge works it shouldn't be too hard to widen the models for 8S and 10S. Here is a thirteen tile sample at 30m high.

Things I need to know before proceeding, aside from any comments on the models, are when I render do I include the Texture plane, and how complex is too complex for an LOD (in polygons)?

buddybud

Hey thats a nice start! I've never batted a bridge before, I've only used 3ds models. Though lods in general should be as few polys as possible. In places that require automata, future props, or interaction with surrounding terrain, you want them as tight as possible...it's a balancing act really. Also when you cut your model into tiles for rendering the overlapping bits need special lod attention so the seams don't show.  Jeronij's original tutorial covers that pretty well.

Anyway i just wanted to show my enthusiasm :P Keep it up!

Bud

choco

a very nice start indeed!   :thumbsup:   glad you decided to try your hand as a bridge engineer. 

generally, i like to get some rough models together and get the bridge in game to better evaluate changes to the BAT.  a large part of this is about checking the textures, but also about LOD geometry.

generally, NAM bridges are not rendered with the base texture plane.  the texture plane can be added later in the reader, and gives a much better result while also being more time consuming.  nothing good ever comes easy......i guess.  here's a pick of the difference when i first encountered the question (the base texture on the bridge is part of the BAT):