Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

SimCity 4 Devotion Custom Content Showcase => Network Addon Mod (NAM) => NAM Inactive threads => Topic started by: Tarkus on June 03, 2013, 10:46:52 PM

Title: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Tarkus on June 03, 2013, 10:46:52 PM
The NAM Team is pleased to announce that the heavily-anticipated NAM Version 31.2 release is now available.  A number of key improvements and solutions to issues present in April's NAM Version 31.1 release have been addressed, including the following:


Thank you all for your patience, and we hope you enjoy NAM 31.2.

The download may be found here (http://sc4devotion.com/csxlex/lex_filedesc.php?lotGET=851), or, just log into the LEX and click "Most Popular", and you'll immediately see it.  Please note, that as always, you must be registered and logged onto the LEX (http://sc4devotion.com/csxlex) in order to see the "Download Here" link.

This package is a Windows installer, which also runs on Linux using WINE.  Support for Mac users, especially those running OS X 10.7 or later, is not provided.

-The NAM Team
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Cougar2004 on June 03, 2013, 11:30:58 PM
Thank you for this release.  Trying it out now!  I dont think the NAM team receives enough appreciation for all the work they do for the thousands of us that enjoy playing SC4.  So Thank you once again NAM Team. 
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Wodong on June 03, 2013, 11:33:02 PM
Is the integration of the 4 GB Patch an optional component of NAM 31.2?  Every time I've tried patching my Simcity4.exe with it, it's killed the program (fail to load at all) and I had to replace it with the pre-patch backup I have.  I am using Simcity Deluxe, and it's otherwise fully patched to ep 1.16380 and my game has been running smoothly despite active plugins of 3+ GB.  (If it matters I'm using a 2.5 GHz quad core i5 Intel CPU on Win 7x64.)

Don't want to waste SC4D's bandwidth if I can't use NAM 31.2 on account of not being able to disable/ignore the 4 BG Patch in the installer.  Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: z on June 04, 2013, 12:07:24 AM
Is the integration of the 4 GB Patch an optional component of NAM 31.2?

Technically, no.  The patch simply sets a standard bit in the executable's header file in the way Microsoft designed it to be used.  There should be no way for it to cause problems with the program.

The new installer requires installation of the patch on a system such as yours.  However, it also creates a backup of your executable.  Let the installer make the patch, and try it out.  If you still have problems, you can replace the executable with the backup, and the installer won't ask about the patch again.

Also, it would help if you could tell us where you got your game from.  That might have something to do with the problem.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Durfsurn on June 04, 2013, 04:22:08 AM
Wow! Well Done NAM team again!
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: FrankU on June 04, 2013, 05:41:25 AM
Fantastic work again!
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Nosimx on June 04, 2013, 07:41:40 AM
Thank you. It's great.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: thinkdude on June 04, 2013, 08:19:32 AM
Thanks so much-- I wasnt expecting this so soon!! You guys rock!
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: sim_link on June 04, 2013, 09:21:27 AM
This release may finally push me into NAM31... great work NAM team. Between RL and then holding back to see bugfixes, it's about time I jump in. ;) Thanks again!
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: kj3400 on June 04, 2013, 12:07:17 PM
No offense, but I barely had time to use 31.1  :D
This is great. You guys are the best.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Uzil on June 04, 2013, 03:18:57 PM
Thanks for your work  :)
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Jack_wilds on June 04, 2013, 04:32:50 PM
a hearty Thank You NAM-Team for your dedication towards quality modding...  &apls   &apls
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: spot on June 04, 2013, 05:52:05 PM
Awesome :thumbsup:
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Kitsune on June 04, 2013, 06:39:03 PM
Just a couple quirks I noticed with the installer..

1) The wooden trestle single track bridge is listed as mandatory, not sure if this is correct as every other bridge is optional.
2) The Norwegian Road Markings for RHW-2 listed under the Options for American Road Textures. I dunno when Norway joined America .. :)
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: z on June 04, 2013, 07:02:23 PM
1) The wooden trestle single track bridge is listed as mandatory, not sure if this is correct as every other bridge is optional.

On my system, it's not listed as mandatory; it's listed as partially selected, which is correct.  The wake effects are not selected by default.

Quote
2) The Norwegian Road Markings for RHW-2 listed under the Options for American Road Textures. I dunno when Norway joined America .. :)

Unlike most of Europe, Norway uses the same type of road textures as the U.S. (double yellow line in the middle, etc.).  That's why it's listed here.

EDIT:  I'll change the names to "American-Style" and "European-Style" for the next release.  That should help reduce any confusion.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: strucka on June 05, 2013, 09:34:41 AM
Seems this update wants me to install the SC4 patch. I was quite sure my game is patched, but now it seems I can't get the patch to install.. =S

Otherwise it's great to see such a live activity in your department, I hope I can test the new version as soon as I can.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: z on June 05, 2013, 04:30:39 PM
Seems this update wants me to install the SC4 patch. I was quite sure my game is patched, but now it seems I can't get the patch to install.. =S

What version does your game say it is?  You can find this information on the Details tab when you bring up the file's Properties window.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: starlifter27 on June 05, 2013, 07:39:41 PM
I initially had the same issue, that is with the patch install.  When it attempted to install, I got a pop up window with "Old file not found.  However, a file of the same name was found.  No update done since file contents do not match."


However, after a few attempts, it now installed correctly, and I'll run the game to see if everything is functioning.  Not sure why it didn't install initially, but it did install now.

My version is 1.1.638.0, with a file size of 8,407,514.  I'm running windows 7 64 bit on a core i7 laptop.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: TEG24601 on June 06, 2013, 01:45:02 AM
Excellent update.  Solve my last remaining problem from 31.1, textures.  Now to solve the RHWDD issues I'm having...
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Patricius Maximus on June 06, 2013, 12:28:36 PM
Well, the new features of 31.2 will be quite useful for my cities. I might say that the NAM Team have provided just what the doctor ordered. In particular the first 3-lane ramps and smooth curves for the RHW-6S will be very helpful.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: le_harv on June 06, 2013, 01:17:35 PM
Great job on all the version 31 iterations, seems much more cohesive and has a quality feel to it!

Not really an issue but I couldn't find the documentation on how to drag smooth rail curves which would be super handy. I remember seeing a post on sc4d but haven't been able to track it down?

Edit - I found it, my bad!
http://sc4devotion.com/forums/index.php?topic=10864.0
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: ivo_su on June 06, 2013, 02:14:12 PM
Thank you NAM for this great update, but I do not worry about the little trick with the placement of the railway track on the + intersection of the road. NAM at 31.1 this worked for me and it was great, but now with 31.2 I have this function. Can you tell me if the problem is with me in the way of installation or you have removed that option from the system of NAM.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: samerton on June 06, 2013, 03:00:07 PM
Thank you NAM for this great update, but I do not worry about the little trick with the placement of the railway track on the + intersection of the road. NAM at 31.1 this worked for me and it was great, but now with 31.2 I have this function. Can you tell me if the problem is with me in the way of installation or you have removed that option from the system of NAM.

You must use one way road instead of rail ;)
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Patricius Maximus on June 07, 2013, 10:24:58 AM
I'd also like to say that I discovered last night that RHW-8S and 10S smooth curves were also included  $%Grinno$%. It was rather silly of me to just now notice it, but these smooth curves will be useful as well. As has been the case with all curves post-NAM 31, the geometry is nothing less than perfect.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Kalk on June 10, 2013, 03:26:37 PM
After patching my game to version 1.1.638.0 successfully, I was still unabled to install NAM as the installer continued to detect that my game was unpatched. After 2 hours of trying, it turns out that I need SC4Update4BAT also. After appyling SC4Update4BAT, NAM installed fine. Just saying in case anyone meets the same problem as mine.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: z on June 10, 2013, 08:06:47 PM
After patching my game to version 1.1.638.0 successfully, I was still unabled to install NAM as the installer continued to detect that my game was unpatched. After 2 hours of trying, it turns out that I need SC4Update4BAT also. After appyling SC4Update4BAT, NAM installed fine. Just saying in case anyone meets the same problem as mine.

That's very strange - the SC4Update4BAT is completely optional, and testing has shown that the NAM installer works fine without it.  Is your version of the game on a CD or a download, and if a download, from where?
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: MOREOPTIONS on June 10, 2013, 08:12:13 PM
Good day everyone.  I am not sure where to post this.  But for many times I have tryed to download the NAM 31.2 and it times out.  Now after many attempt it's saying.

You have entered invalid data !
The following seems incorrect ...
Download Quota for this lot has been exceeded ...
The System Quality Controller ... (picture above) ... is having problems with the data you entered..

Click the BACK button in your BROWSER and try again.

Your IP Address = 180.75.170.208

I have tried other PC's to get the same message.  I am able to download other larg files from many networks.  so this has me puzzled.  PLEASE HELP...   Thank you
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: k808j on June 10, 2013, 09:17:57 PM
@moreoptions-log out of Filexchange, clear browser history and cache then try again. If this does not work your ISP may have slapped a restriction on you.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Kalk on June 10, 2013, 09:37:51 PM
My version is Deluxe Edition CD. I'm not sure why I encountered that problem, but I'm so happy that it works now. I return to the game after years and a little overwhelmed with all the options that NAM offered, but It's truly awesome!
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: z on June 10, 2013, 10:19:05 PM
Download Quota for this lot has been exceeded ...

The LEX has a daily limit on how many times a given file may be downloaded; I believe it's five times.  Once you hit that, you have to wait until the next day.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: MOREOPTIONS on June 10, 2013, 10:53:09 PM
Checked ISP,  also trying other PC.  same problem.   I think perhaps it's limet has been reached from the LEX end.  not sure.  system cach is clear in both my PC's. s I also attempted using other OS. also try using the LEX downloader.  it's saying Quotas exceeded.  I am able to download other files from the LEX.  it's only hung up on the NAM file...  Thank you for the advice everyone
Download Quota for this lot has been exceeded ...

The LEX has a daily limit on how many times a given file may be downloaded; I believe it's five times.  Once you hit that, you have to wait until the next day.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Durfsurn on June 11, 2013, 02:06:29 AM
Sorry to be a downer on the new NAM but I was surprised to see the tool to make auto road TuLEPs changed from Rail to OWR. I liked being able to hotkey to Rail using "R" to make TuLEPs. Is there a reason for the change? Also can I change it in my NAM?
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: MandelSoft on June 11, 2013, 02:37:32 AM
There is a reason for the change. We noticed that when using the rail tool for this, the stoplights break. That's why we switched to OWR, because that network does work actually.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Durfsurn on June 12, 2013, 12:43:43 AM
Ah and a worthy reason it is!

Thanks then... I wish we could make new hotkeys...
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: vinlabsc3k on June 12, 2013, 12:10:26 PM
Awesome work NAM Team for the release of 31.2. :thumbsup:

There's missing description on the Diag RHW-6s Type C1 ramp and rainbow tile on both diagonal ramps in 4 directions on 8.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: jdenm8 on June 16, 2013, 08:49:06 AM
Ah and a worthy reason it is!

Thanks then... I wish we could make new hotkeys...

Oh, we most definitely can. The problem is that either Maxis never made a key listener for OWR or we haven't found it. Considering there's about 4,294,967,095 pointer possibilities, we're not actively searching for it.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: tb7 on June 16, 2013, 12:46:04 PM
I found a very little mistake on NAM 31.1 and didn't read, that this is solved in NAM 31.2. I searched for a topic but didn't found one, where i can post this. So I make it here.   ::)

In the "z3_Moonlight_SAM10 - Japanese Streets Euro_RHD"-file are 2 FISHfiles with the instance 0x5E585A34. 1 of them (the one with the little pic) should be 0x5E585A31.

I'm sorry, if someone else allready reported this.

btw. thanks for the big work u all are doing!  :)
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Wiimeiser on June 16, 2013, 10:55:58 PM
Oh, we most definitely can. The problem is that either Maxis never made a key listener for OWR or we haven't found it. Considering there's about 4,294,967,095 pointer possibilities, we're not actively searching for it.
At 1 per minute that would be about 20 years?
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: j-dub on June 16, 2013, 11:05:38 PM
@tb7

Good find, that type of oversight is nothing short of major. I'm just not the most fluent with solving problems with hexadecimals such as that. As it has gotten bigger since the last decade, you know it gets harder for both the system and the users to catch them.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Kergelen on June 17, 2013, 01:17:28 AM
Thanks NAM Team for this new version. I had CTD problems with 31 and 31.1 and now the game run fantastically.
And the stability is amazing, a great improvement &apls
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: kingtiberius on August 03, 2013, 03:32:14 AM
After I installed everything and patch all the patch that is needed mine won't run.. when I double click the Sim City shortcut icon on my desktop nothing happens..

Prior to installing NAM.. it was running smoothly I reinstalled twice already and re patched..

still no good results.. any help?
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: z on August 03, 2013, 04:17:28 AM
Did the patch run successfully?  When you look at the executable, what's the version number on it?
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: roadgeek on September 11, 2013, 05:35:18 PM
I wanted to respond to the thread No Technical Support for Cracked/Pirated Copies of SC4, but it is locked, and I am sure there is a good reason. My copy is not cracked or pirated, but I was unable to re-install it after I replaced my hard drive, because I could not find the code on the box, but I was able to recover the executable off the old hard drive. For whatever reason though, now I am unable to install either NAM 31.2 or the patch 1.1.168. Prior versions of NAM did not tell me anything about that patch, and I guess I always assumed that I had all the patches I needed. One other possibility is that I moved my executable from where I had been running it with prior versions of NAM, and I need to update my registry accordingly. I have no problem putting down an extra $5.00 (I figured by now it wouldn't be too expensive), if I felt pretty sure that would fix my problem.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: z on September 11, 2013, 07:15:30 PM
What error message are you getting from the NAM installer?  The exact wording would be very helpful.

In any case, installing a brand new copy of SC4 always works.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Indiana Joe on September 11, 2013, 07:44:41 PM
My key is located on the back of my manual, not on the box (even though the SC4 installer says it's on the box).  If you have a manual, check the back (at the top).
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: roadgeek on September 14, 2013, 10:18:50 AM
@Indiana Joe - Great suggestion. I will hunt down the manual.

@z - First it pops up a dialog which says "This program will apply EP1 update 1 (build 368) to Sim City4 (North America)

Next, it shows the Updating progress dialog, which says, "PATCH Version 6.50 - RT Patch(R) Professional
(C) Copyright Pocket Soft, Inc., 1991-2002. All Rights Reserved.

Next, a Patch Warning dialog pops up that says "Missing or Invalid Registry/INI entry".

Next, another Patch Warning pops up saying, "Old File does not exist"
It repeats this last pop up about 5 or 6 times before it pops up an RTPatch Binary Update System dialog saying, "Congratulations! Sim City has been updated with EP1 Update 1 (build 638)."

However, when I go back to the NetworkAddonMod Setup 31.2.exe, I still get an NSIS Error dialog that says that it cannot locate the executable, and when I direct it to the executable, it still says that I need this patch.  :'(
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: Indiana Joe on September 14, 2013, 11:33:27 AM
Keep in mind that you need an unaltered version of SC4 (not cracked) to update properly.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: jdenm8 on September 14, 2013, 11:48:20 AM
You need to add the registry entries for SC4.

If you have one, they should be easily obtained from a registry backup.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: NCGAIO on September 14, 2013, 01:53:31 PM
edit: sorry post wrong place
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: roadgeek on September 16, 2013, 12:01:17 AM
@jdenm: I'm not quite sure how to do that.

@indiana joe: It is not. I don't do that sort of thing.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: z on September 16, 2013, 12:11:53 AM
The easiest way to add the registry entries for SC4 if you're not familiar with the registry is to reinstall the game over itself.
Title: Re: NAM Version 31.2 Now Available
Post by: didhon on November 22, 2013, 03:44:32 PM
That's awesome.. 100% worked  &apls   ;D