• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

A tour of my work and home...

Started by JBSimio, April 19, 2007, 06:17:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JBSimio

A number of people have asked me about camp and what I do.  Well, in short, I'm the food service director for a rather large YMCA camp.  That means I feed kids for a living.  We're open all year with school groups, weekend groups and then of course a traditional summer camp.  I have two year round kitchens, but in the summer the number of buildings I have to keep tabs on grows to seven.  Unfortunately, none of that really gives a very good idea of just what this place is all about.  So... having had a bit of unexpected free time the other day, I thought it would be a fun idea to go for a hike with my camera and show you all around a little bit.  This was about a two hour walk and covers the bulk of camp's 1200 acres.  I took nearly 80 pictures and then trimmed it down to 33.  First, let's take a look at the overview (thanks to Mapquest):

The route I took is drawn (quite badly, I'm afraid) in green and the red dots and numbers correspond to the pictures.  I also outlined the approximate camp property lines in blue... just for fun.  We begin in the upper left corner of the map...

Our tour starts at Ranch Camp.  In the summer, "camp" is divided into a number of villages, based on mainly on age or specialty areas.  Ranch Camp is one of several villages that is used only in the summer.  It is a co-ed teen village whose program is based entirely around horses and farming.  It is a very rustic village and the campers help with all the farming chores, including their own meals.

The Ranch Pond