• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Tips on getting larger cities?

Started by sm0kie, October 10, 2007, 02:42:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sm0kie

Hey all, newbie Mayor here =)

I started playing Rush Hour for a week, and for once in my Simcity career (Simcity 2000-3000) I actually managed to earn profit and stay afloat without cheating!

Anyway, here's my Q.  How do I increase my population once every single square has been zoned or built on?  I have used the overlay to check if every single zone is dense.

Let me give you guys some more background on my game:

I have 3 cities so far, all on the largest square size, on easy mode.

My first city (40,000 pop.) I semi-followed a guide.  It's entire coast is lined with beaches, all residential areas are covered with school, police, fire, medical.  There's a good mix of high medium and low wealth residents.  I built an international airport in this city, but I didn't feel any increase in commerce demand.  Right now, this city is teetering on razor thin tax profit.  (maybe only 200 simoleans or so)

My second city (30,000 pop) is just a huge farmland.  Farms throughout, with some residential and commerial spread.  It's connected to my first city with roads.

My third city (my favourite  :P 50,000 population) is connected to my first city with an avenue.  It's got all high tech industry, mostly high wealth residents, and also has an international airport.  My problem is, everything seems to be really good, crime/traffic/health/etc ratings are either very high or perfect, except my environment, which is at half.  I have been running this city on cheetah speed for quite some time, and the population just goes up and down from 50,000.  Everything is now zoned for dense, and I even built a landmark in the center of my commercial area.  One thing I do notice is sometimes a suitcase icon appears (No Job).