• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

TE lots and blocking access to adjacent zones

Started by Shadow Assassin, June 17, 2007, 03:08:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shadow Assassin

Topic split from "Upcoming SFBT creations"

Quote from: Andreas on June 12, 2007, 04:10:48 PM
Good thinking! I'm not that good with textures though, but maybe somebody could give me a hand? I'm also thinking that I could add bus stop properties to the lot, since it's intended as a space-saver. Oh, and I should mention that you have to be careful with adjacent zones. As with every TE lot, it will block road access from the zones over a span of three tiles, so some carefull zoning is advised.

Hmm, isn't it just residental that gets blocked by a transit-enabled lot?

Otherwise, it looks good. I'd suggest widening the avenue even further, but it seems that's not really possible, unless you had the station to the left or the right of the avenue with the track using one tile, and the avenue using the rest of the space. That'd be too complicated (but still possible) to do. Daeley's SC4Path tool (along with SC4Tools) should make the pathing and TEing of it a breeze. Actually, speaking of that, I wonder where it's disappeared to... hmm.
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dedgren ♦ dmscopio ♦ Ennedi
emilin ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley ♦ moganite ♦ M4346 ♦ papab2000
Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
See my uploads on the LEX!

Andreas

I haven't used that many large TE'd lots in a situation like this, but I guess it will also block commercials if their front is completely blocked by the lot. I already thought about modifying the avenue textures in order to make the center portion wider (and leaving only a very narrow sidewalk), but obviously this requires some texture and pathing work, which I'm not very familiar with. For the moment, the station is more of a "proof of concept" anyway - I mainly wanted to know how it can be made, and if it's functional.
Andreas