• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Philosophical Transportation Question

Started by baran3, February 06, 2011, 11:48:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

baran3

First off, let me say I'm blown away with the amount of content I'm finding for this game. You folks are incredibly dedicated and talented.

I just started playing SC4 and have discovered/installed the NAM (v29), the NWM, and the RHW (v4.1). There is plenty of technical help available on the web, but my question is more philosophical. BTW, I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right thread, so please feel free to move it if necessary.

I've spent the weekend playing with the different road types trying to come up with a 'standard' transportation model for my cities. I'd like to have good idea of what different road types I want to predominantly use. The standard Maxis road's seem well enough, but I like the NWM roads too. They seem to have good transition options for the basic city transportation structure; they tie in well with both themselves and the Maxis roads. The turn lanes and other eye candy are nice too. But I can't figure out how to bridge over them. All I can do is intersections with traffic lights. Am I missing something obvious here?

As far as the RHW mod goes, I've got a real basic question. I see all kinds of info describing 'how' it's used. I'd like to know 'why' it's used. They're huge, and can move a lot of cars. They have great flexibility in creating interchanges. But they don't transition to anything but a 2-lane highway. They're easy to build bridges over, which is a plus. What is the thought process behind when and where to use these RHW systems? Is it to move sims from one city to the other? Is it to move sims from one end of your map to the other in the fastest possible way? How do you end a large RHW system? Short of down-sizing it to a 2 lane highway I can 't see any other transitions.