• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

About water treatment plant properties

Started by Architect_1077, January 02, 2012, 06:21:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Architect_1077

Hi.

I have a question regarding a couple of lot properties related to water treatment plants.
Basically, I'm trying to create a custom water treatment plant. Looking at the properties for the in-game water treatment plant I noticed that the "Water Treatment monthly capacity" property is at 0, while the water pollution generated is set to -300. So, if the water pollution reduction capacity is (as far as I understand) defined by the pollution generated properties of the lot set to negative numbers, then what is the "Water treatment monthly capacity" property used for??

Any takers on this subject?

I'm relatively new to creating custom SC4 content, might be a noobish question...

Lowkee33

I would guess that the capacity is a relic from the makers of SC4.  Instead of having a capacity, this building only offers negative pollution.  In a way, it is the same thing.  You could try making the number more than 0 and see what happens

Architect_1077

I've tried that... nothing seems to happen as far as I can tell. Hence why I asked here to see if any experienced modders know anything regarding that property.

Correction:

I goofed up while testing. After some proper testing I found that it is actually an important parameter. While the pollution reduction reduces the pollution within a radius of the building, the capacity parameter reduces water pollution throughout the entire network it is connected to, based on this capacity. Makes more sense I would think. Why Maxis doesn't use this parameter beats me.

Guess I answered my own question! Duh!

Architect_1077

I want to update some info here regarding my findings. I never got around to doing so and since I haven't been playing regularly I had set this "project" aside for some time now. I recently picked it up again.